Neal-Maddox-and-Kyle-Kasperbauer
Source: CrossFit Inc

Neal Maddox Wins The CrossFit Open Workout 18.3 Live Announcement

The 7x CrossFit Games competitor takes the win!

CrossFit Open 18.3 Live Announcement saw 40 year old Neal Maddox beat 35 year old Kyle Kasperbauer. 

Last year in the 35 – 39 year old Masters category at The CrossFit Games, Kasperbauer came in first with Maddox winning the silver medal.

Don't miss the live announcement of #18point3, presented by @assaultairbike, tomorrow, March 8. Information on how to watch and a direct link to the live broadcast are available via the links in our bio. – Tune in Thursday, March 8, on Facebook or Games.CrossFit.com. Mastsers athletes @nealmaddox ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ and @kylekasperbauer ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ will kick off the show, followed by special guests at @Skyline_CrossFit_ in Houston, Texas. – Los Angeles ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ- 5 p.m. PST Mexico City ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฝ- 7 p.m. CST Atlanta ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ- 8 p.m. EST Sรฃo Paulo ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท- 10 p.m. BRT London ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง- 1 a.m. GMT (March 9) Paris ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท- 2 a.m. CET (March 9) Hong Kong ๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡ฐ- 9 a.m. HKT (March 9) Sydney ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡บ- 10 a.m. AEDT (March 9) – Official hashtags: #18point3 โ€ข #InTheOpen โ€ข #CrossFitOpen โ€ข #CrossFitGames | @reebok @assaultairbike

A post shared by The CrossFit Games (@crossfitgames) on

If you missed the live announcement then you can watch it here:

Live Open Announcement 18.3

Watch the live announcement of Open Workout #18point3, presented by Assault Fitness. Masters athletes Neal Maddox (40) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ vs. Kyle Kasperbauer (35) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ, live from Skyline Crossfit in Houston, Texas, with special guests.

Posted by The CrossFit Games on Donnerstag, 8. Mรคrz 2018

Click the links below for more information about 18.3

CrossFit Open Workout 18.3 Movement Standards

*IMPORTANT* CrossFit Open Workout 18.3 Scaling Tips

CrossFit Open Workout 18.3 – NEAL MADDOX

Neal Maddox is a 40 year old Crossfitter from San Jose, California. He has been living a very active life since he was 9 years old. His career was based in football, but after the chance of a professional career was lost he became a coach in a regular gym. Neal was introduced to CrossFit in 2009 and has been to the CrossFit Games almost every year since 2010, except in 2016 due to foot surgery.

From the beginning of his CrossFit career Neal has been the oldest in his division. His first time competing in the Masters division he had not yet turned 40, so he qualified for the 35-39 year old, being the oldest athlete on the field. In 2018 he will be one of the youngest males in the 40-44 year old age category.

Neal opened up his own gym in 2006, X-treme Athletics, that he later changed to CrossFit X-treme Athletics. There he trains all kinds of people as well as coaching high school football with great success.

CrossFit Open Workout 18.3 – KYLE KASPERBAUER

Kyle Kasperbauer is an American CrossFit athlete that competes in the Masters division. He is 35 years old and has been to the CrossFit Games six times, both as an individual and as part of a team. His team finished in second place at the 2010 Games. Last year he became the fittest man on earth in his age group.

Kyle started doing CrossFit in 2009 after a career in wrestling and American football. He started competing right away in a team, but changed to competing as an individual in 2012 and became the third fittest man in the world. Only three other men have been at the Games as many times as Kyle.

No one else has stood on the podium in three categories like he has, in a team, as an individual and as a master.

The following text is from CrossFit Inc:

WHAT IS THE CROSSFIT OPEN?

While we hit benchmark workouts at our affiliates throughout the year (1-rep-max back squat, 1-rep-max snatch, Fran, Cindy), the CrossFit Games Open is the time to see how we perform compared to other CrossFitters around the world.

The Open is comprised of five workouts over five weeks. Open workouts are identified by their year and the order in which they appear. The workouts will be released every Thursday during the five weeks of the Open, and you can watch the live announcement of the workout that will be streamed on the CrossFit Games website.

The announcement will take place at a different location each week, and two athletes (or more) will perform the workout live. After the workout is released, any athlete who has registered for the Open will have until 5 p.m. PT on the following Monday to submit their best score online.

WHAT IS THE PURPOSE OF THE CROSSFIT OPEN?

The Open is the first qualifying stage of the CrossFit Games. Any athlete who wants to compete at the Games must first make it through the Open in their region.

While the purpose of the Open is to find the fittest athletes in each region to move on to the regionals, itโ€™s also an opportunity for any athlete at any level to participate in the competition. It can add meaning and purpose to your training while also bringing your gymโ€™s community closer together. (As a rule of thumb, the Open is the time of year where we see many people achieve important firsts: bodyweight snatch, muscle-ups, toes-to-bars, handstand push-ups, double-unders, etc.)

Most importantly, the Open will also give you some interesting data on your performance in the gym, which can be a guide for setting realistic goals for the following year.

If you want to learn more about the effects of CrossFit, click on the article link below:

20 Amazing Body Transformations of CrossFit Games Athletes